The Ruling on Makeup

Here are some makeup rulings to help with seeking only halal ingredients. Nowadays there is access to vegan, cruelty-free and even organic makeup. Nevertheless here are some ingredients to keep in mind when buying makeup.

LIPSTICKS

It is permissible to use lipsticks on condition they don’t contain impure ingredients.[21]

Most of the lipsticks on the market contain carmine. Carmine also called cochineal, cochineal extract, crimson lake or carmine lake, natural red 4, C.I. 75470,or E120, is a pigment of a bright-red color obtained by crushing and boiling dried insects in water to extract the carminic acid. Carmine is used in the manufacture of artificial flowers, paints, crimson ink, rouge, and other cosmetics, and is routinely added to food products such as yogurtcandy and certain brands of juice.[22]

In principle, it is impermissible to consume insects or its products. There is a strong possibility of intake of lipstick through licking etc., therefore, lipstick having carmine is not permissible.[23]

LIQUID MATTE

Liquid Matte contains the pigment of a lipstick, and the glide and sheen of a gloss.[24] The same ruling will apply as lipsticks.

EYE-LINERS/EYE SHADOW

It is permissible to use eye-liners or eye shadows on condition they don’t contain impure ingredients.[25]It is permissible to use eye-liners or eye shadows containing carmine.[26]

MAKE UP

It is permissible to use any type of makeup on condition they don’t contain impure ingredients. In order to determine the permissibility of the make ups one should look out for the sign stating if the products are vegan friendly. [27]

Source: The Ideal Woman

Leave a Reply